Skip to Main Content

 

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

Use your MyDCC login to access resources.

 

Danville Community College provides off campus access to all of its electronic Library resources. To access our  databases from off-campus you must be a registered DCC student or a member of the DCC faculty and staff. Access to our databases from off campus is restricted to current students and employees. To access these databases, when you click on the database title, you will be prompted to enter your MyDCC username and password. After that you can search any databases as if you are on campus. Please contact a Librarian if you have a question or need more information.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What login do I use for off-campus access to library resources?
    The MyVCCS username and password are the same as for Canvas, student email, and SIS. Be sure that Caps Lock is off.
  • Why won't the system accept my login?
    You must be currently enrolled at a Virginia community college for your login to work. Accounts should be available by the first day of classes of the current semester. If you are using Internet Explorer and see a "Page Not Found" message after you log in, click on "Back" and try the link again, it should work the second time. If that does not work, please contact your local college library staff for further assistance.
  • I'm logged in but can't get to articles or journals. I keep getting a database error or seeing the database company's login screen. What should I do?
  • I'm using my employer's network, why can't I access the databases?
    Your employer's network may not permit proxying or may have a firewall in place. This situation could prevent you from accessing library databases from the workplace.

To access e-resources from off-campus, use the custom links provided on your library Web site, and log in using your MyDCC username and password.

Minimum Web browser requirements for successful access to library databases:

To access an e-resource from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter a MyVCCS or MyDCC user name and password:

                 OR                       

 

The username and password are the same as for Canvas and student email.

What login do I use for off-campus access to library resources?
The MyVCCS username and password are the same as for Canvas, student email, and SIS.  Be sure that Caps Lock is off.
I can't get in, why don't I see my college login screen?
If you use a search engine to go directly to a subscription e-resource instead of going through your library's Web site, there is no way for you to be identified as an eligible user, and you will not be allowed access. Use the customized e-resource links on your college library's web site in order to log in with your college username and password.
Why won't the VCCS system accept my login?
You must be currently enrolled at a Virginia community college for your login to work. Accounts should be available by the first day of classes of the current semester. If you are using Internet Explorer and see a "Page Not Found" message after you log in, click on "Back" and try the link again, it should work the second time. If that does not work, please contact your local college library staff for further assistance.

I forgot my username / password, how can I reset it?   I don't know my username / password, how can I find it?
Look up your username and / or reset your password here.

I'm logged in but can't get to articles or journals. I keep getting a database error or seeing the database company's login screen. What should I do?

  1. Clear your Web browser's cache (instructions here)
  2. Clear existing cookies and set your browser to accept cookies (instructions here)
  3. Make sure that Javascript is enabled (instructions here)
  4. Go back to the library home page and try to access the resource again.

I'm using a business network, why can't I access the databases?

Corporate or other highly-secure networks may not permit proxying or may have a firewall in place. This situation could prevent you from accessing library databases from the workplace.

I received an error from a resource that said "Your institution is not a subscriber."  What should I do?

  • Go to your college library's web site and use the e-resource links listed there. These links are specific to your institution and will prompt you to log in if needed. If you use an outdated link or a Web search engine to go directly to a database or electronic journal site without passing through the MyVCCS portal and logging in, the resource has no way to recognize you as an eligible VCCS user.
  • If you get this message and you are going through the Libraries' web sites, contact your library staff.

I've tried everything! What else could be wrong?

  • The problem may be with the vendor's site. These problems are generally resolved fairly quickly once the vendor is aware of them. Please notify library staff if you suspect this is the case.
  • Certain content or features may not be part of your library's subscription. Occasionally, a library subscription does not provide access to all features or content on a site.  This may result in an error message. Check with library staff to verify subscription coverage.
​
Powered by Springshare - Created by Barksdale Library - Managed by Super Librarians.
​
​ ​