Search books using the search box below. You may select from the drop down a keyword, subject, title or author search.
Scholarly books, in either print or electronic format, remain important sources for researchers. They are a good source of:
Remember: you may only need to read one chapter of a scholarly book!
This is a list of suggested terms to use in a search for resources in the Library Catalog:
Print books may be found by using the library catalog. Browse the call numbers in the areas listed below to find print books on the shelf at the Library.
Books are arranged on the shelves in the library by subject. We use the Library of Congress Classification System to assign call numbers to our materials so that materials on similar topics are next to each other on the shelves and patrons and staff can easily find what they need. You need to know a book's call number in order to get it off the shelf in the library.
Books within this subject area may be found within the following call number ranges:
| Subject | Call Numbers |
|---|---|
| Music | M |
| Literature on Music | ML |
| Musical Instruction & Study | MT |
| Fine Arts | N - NX |
| Motion Pictures. Film. Cinema. | PN 1993-1999 |
| Archaeology | CC |
| Dramatic representation. The theater | PN2000-3307 |
| Motion pictures | PN1993-PN1999 |
| Apocalyptic films | PN1995.9 |
| Film adaptations | PN1997.85 |
| Monsters in motion pictures | PN1995.9.M6 |
Art Is Not What You Think It Is by
Art Is Not What You Think It Is utilizes original research to present a series of critical incursions into the current state of debate on the idea of art, making manifest what has been largely missing or unsaid in those discussions. Links museology, history, theory, and criticism to the realities of contemporary social conditions and shows how they have structurally functioned in a variety of contexts Deals with divisive and controversial problems such as blasphemy and idolatry, and the problem of artistic truth Addresses relations between European notions about art and artifice and those developed in other and especially indigenous cultural traditions
A Companion to Nineteenth-Century Art by
A comprehensive review of art in the first truly modern century A Companion to Nineteenth-Century Art contains contributions from an international panel of noted experts to offer a broad overview of both national and transnational developments, as well as new and innovative investigations of individual art works, artists, and issues.
A Companion to American Art by
A Companion to American Art presents 35 newly-commissioned essays by leading scholars that explore the methodology, historiography, and current state of the field of American art history. Features contributions from a balance of established and emerging scholars, art and architectural historians, and other specialists Includes several paired essays to emphasize dialogue and debate between scholars on important contemporary issues in American art history.
The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists by
An indispensable biographical and critical guide to American art from colonial times to contemporary postmodernism, this dictionary offers readers a wealth of factual detail on and analysis of America’s leading artists, along with analysis of their work. The new edition includes more than 4,000 links to online resources, providing quick access to images of almost all of the works discussed. There are new entries on topics such as fiber art, light and space, Native American art, and shaped canvas, as well as new or expanded entries on artists.
Latin Jazz by
Jazz has always been a genre built on the blending of disparate musical cultures. Latin jazz proves this rule perhaps better than any other style in this rich tradition, yet its cultural heritage has been all but erased from narratives of jazz history. Latin Jazz: The Other Jazz corrects therecord. Acclaimed musician and jazz scholar Christopher Washburne traces the roots of Latin jazz back to 18th and 19th century colonial New Orleans, and follows its evolution to the 21st century global stage. Washburne provides a historical account that embraces the genre's international nature andexplores the dynamic interplay of economics, race, ethnicity, and nationalism that shaped it.
Interpreting Music Video by
Interpreting Music Video introduces students to the musical, visual, and sociological aspects of music videos, enabling them to critically analyze a multimedia form with a central place in popular culture. With highly relevant examples drawn from recent music videos across many different genres, this concise and accessible book brings together tools from musical analysis, film and media studies, gender and sexuality studies, and critical race studies, requiring no previous knowledge. Exploring the multiple dimensions of music videos, this book is the perfect introduction to critical analysis for music, media studies, communications, and popular culture.
Rebel Music in the Triumphant Empire by
At the dawn of the 1990s, as the United States celebrated its victory in the Cold War and sole superpower status by waging war on Iraq and proclaiming democratic capitalism as the best possible society, the 1990s underground punk renaissance transformed the punk scene into a site of radical opposition to American empire.
Music As Atmosphere by
This book explores the atmospheric dimensions of music and sound. With multidisciplinary insights from music studies, sound studies, philosophy and media studies, chapters investigate music and sound as shared environmental feelings. This book probes into cutting edge conceptual issues at the forefront of contemporary discussions on atmosphere, atmospherology and affect.
The Oxford Dictionary of Music by
Offers broad coverage of a wide range of musical categories spanning many eras, including composers, librettists, singers, orchestras, important ballets and operas, and musical instruments and their history. Over 250 new entries have been added to this edition to expand coverage of popular music, ethnomusicology, modern and contemporary composers, music analysis, and recording technology.
Music in Action Film by
Music in Action Film is the first volume to address the central role of music and sound in action film--arguably the most dominant form of commercial cinema today. Bringing together 15 essays by established and emerging scholars, the book encompasses both Hollywood blockbusters and international films, from classic works such as The Seven Samurai to contemporary superhero franchises. The contributors consider action both as genre and as a mode of cinematic expression, in chapters on evolving musical conventions; politics, representation, and identity; musical affect and agency; the functional role of music and sound design in action film; and production technologies.
The Complete Guide to Film and Digital Production by
Now available in an updated, 2nd edition, The Complete Guide to Film and Digital Production: The People and The Process , 2/e,discusses the entire production process for film and digital media, and provides you with a comprehensive view of production in the field, at live events, for mobile content and for animation. This book covers all aspects of the production process and readers learn the nuts and bolts of film and digital production from pre-production through delivery.
Reframing the Past by
Reframing the Past traces what historians have written about film and television from 1898 until the early 2000s. Mia Treacey argues that historical engagement with film and television should be reconceptualised as Screened History: an interdisciplinary, international field of research to incorporate and replace what has been known as 'History and Film'. It draws from the fields of Film, Television and Cultural Studies to critically analyse key works and connect past scholarship with contemporary research.
16mm and 8mm Filmmaking by
This book is an essential guide to making traditional 16mm and 8mm films, from production to post, using both analog and digital tools. Focusing on low-budget equipment and innovative techniques, this text will provide you with the steps to begin your journey in making lasting work in the legacy medium of great filmmakers from Georges Méliès to Steven Spielberg. The discipline of 16mm or 8mm film can initially seem challenging, but through the chapters in this book, you'll learn strategies and insight to develop your craft.
Literature in English by
Literature in English: How and Why is an accessible guide for students. It deals with the fundamental concepts of literary form and genre; the history of English-language literature from the medieval period to the present; relations between the study of literature and other disciplines; literary theory; researching a topic; and writing a paper.
The Routledge Companion to Victorian Literature by
The Routledge Companion to Victorian Literature offers 45 chapters by leading international scholars working with the most dynamic and influential political, cultural, and theoretical issues addressing Victorian literature today. Scholars and students will find this collection both useful and inspiring. The Routledge Companion places the genres of the novel, poetry, and drama and issues of gender, social class, and race in conversation with subjects like ecology, colonialism, the Gothic, digital humanities, sexualities, disability, material culture, and animal studies.
A History of American Literature by
The History of American Literature from 1950 to the Present offers a comprehensive analysis of the wide range of literary works that extends into the 21st century Covers drama, poetry, fiction, non-fiction, memoirs, science fiction, and detective novels Features discussion of American works within the context of such 21st-century issues as globalization, medicine, gender, education, and other topics
Writing Appalachia by
Despite the stereotypes and misconceptions surrounding Appalachia, the region has nurtured and inspired some of the nation's finest writers. Featuring dozens of authors born into or adopted by the region over the past two centuries, Writing Appalachia showcases for the first time the nuances and contradictions that place Appalachia at the heart of American history. This comprehensive anthology covers an exceedingly diverse range of subjects, genres, and time periods, beginning with early Native American oral traditions and concluding with twenty-first-century writers such as Wendell Berry, bell hooks, Silas House, Barbara Kingsolver, and Frank X Walker.
American Literature and the Long Downturn by Below are some databases for our eBooks.
From off campus you will log in with your myDCC username and password
(the same one you use to access Canvas, student email, etc.).
