Research Guides: Mechatronics: Automation &amp; Robotics: Suggested Resources

Online Reference

Collections of various reference books available online. Just click the links below and search for your topic.

IEEE / IET Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Offers expanded access to over 3,000,000 full-text documents, including full-text journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings, and active IEEE standards.
CRC ENGnetBASE Engineering Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to the latest handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering. (CRC Press) and new Taylor & Francis evidence-based ebooks. Collection of over 3,000 books online, ENGnetBASE provides access to the latest handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial, and mining engineering. Be sure to select "Content I have Access To" in the filters.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Offers nearly 9,000 full-text articles from the journals, magazines, and conference proceedings, since 1991, of the Association for Computing Machinery, the world's oldest and largest educational and scientific computing society.
The ACM Digital Library offers access to all ACM publications (including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books, curated full-text publications from select publishers, and the ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.
Oxford Academic - eBooks This link opens in a new window
Oxford Academic Books provides access to over 12,000 e-books in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. An essential resource for scholars, teachers and researchers, publishing research and scholarship across many subject areas.
Select the filters on the left for Unlocked, Free, and Open Access to see all the titles currently available.
Coverage: 1972 - present.
Oxford Reference Online Premium - Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Contains over 390 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford, including titles in Oxford Companions Series. All books are cross-searchable.
Coverage: 2002 - present

Reference Ebooks

Mechanical Engineers' Handbook, Volume 2 by Myer Kutz (Editor)
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781118930830
Publication Date: 2015
Full coverage of electronics, MEMS, and instrumentation and control in mechanical engineering This second volume of Mechanical Engineers' Handbook covers electronics, MEMS, and instrumentation and control, giving you accessible and in-depth access to the topics you'll encounter in the discipline: computer-aided design, product design for manufacturing and assembly, design optimization, total quality management in mechanical system design, reliability in the mechanical design process for sustainability, life-cycle design, design for remanufacturing processes, signal processing, data acquisition and display systems, and much more. The book provides a quick guide to specialized areas you may encounter in your work, giving you access to the basics of each and pointing you toward trusted resources for further reading, if needed.
A Dictionary of Electronics and Electrical Engineering by Andrew Butterfield; John Szymanski
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780198725725
Publication Date: 2018
This popular dictionary, formerly published as the Penguin Dictionary of Electronics, has been extensively revised and updated, providing more than 5,000 clear, concise, and jargon-free A-Z entries on key terms, theories, and practices in the areas of electronics and electrical science. Topicscovered include circuits, power, systems, magnetic devices, control theory, communications, signal processing, and telecommunications, together with coverage of applications areas such as image processing, storage, and electronic materials. The dictionary is enhanced by dozens of equations andnearly 400 diagrams.It also includes 16 appendices listing mathematical tables and other useful data, including essential graphical and mathematical symbols, fundamental constants, technical reference tables, mathematical support tools, and major innovations in electricity and electronics.
A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering by Marcel Escudier; Tony Atkins
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780198832102
Publication Date: 2019
This new edition of A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering provides clear and concise definitions and explanations for over 8,000 mechanical-engineering terms in the core areas of design, stress analysis, dynamics, thermodynamics, and fluid mechanics, together with newly extended coverage ofmaterials engineering.More than 550 new entries have been incorporated into the text, including alloy steels, biomaterials, ceramics, continuum mechanics, conventional drilling, graphene, metallic glasses, superconductivity, and vapour deposition, alongside over 25 additional line drawings and updated web links. Itcontinues to be an indispensable reference for students of mechanical engineering and related disciplines such as aerospace engineering, chemical engineering, and civil engineering, practising engineers, and other professionals needing to understand engineering terms.
The Electrical Engineering Handbook by Wai-Kai Chen
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9780121709600
Publication Date: 2004
The Electrical Engineer's Handbook is an invaluable reference source for all practicing electrical engineers and students. Encompassing 79 chapters, this book is intended to enlighten and refresh knowledge of the practicing engineer or to help educate engineering students. This text will most likely be the engineer's first choice in looking for a solution; extensive, complete references to other sources are provided throughout. No other book has the breadth and depth of coverage available here.
Handbook of Nanophysics by Klaus D. Sattler (Editor)
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781420075465
Publication Date: 2010
The tools of nanodiagnostics, nanotherapy, and nanorobotics are expected to revolutionize the future of medicine, leading to presymptomatic diagnosis of disease, highly effective targeted treatment therapy, and minimum side effects. Handbook of Nanophysics: Nanomedicine and Nanorobotics presents an up-to-date overview of the application of nanotechnology to molecular and biological processes, medical imaging, targeted drug delivery, and cancer treatment.
Instrument Engineers' Handbook, Volume 3 by Bela G. Liptak (Editor); Halit Eren (Editor)
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN: 9781439863435
Publication Date: 2018
This is the latest addition to an enduring collection that industrial automation (AT) professionals often refer to as the "bible." First published in 1970, the entire handbook is approximately 5,000 pages, designed as standalone volumes that cover the measurement (Volume 1), control (Volume 2), and software (Volume 3) aspects of automation. This fourth edition of the third volume provides an in-depth, state-of-the-art review of control software packages used in plant optimization, control, maintenance, and safety.

Print Reference

Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary by Steven M. Kaplan
Call Number: REF TK9 .K39 2004
ISBN: 0471402249
Publication Date: 2004
Electrical engineering is one of the largest professional disiplines in the world and as such has collected an enormous amount of unique terminology and jargon. This dictionary is the essential source of definitions of electrical engineering terms and acronyms used in todays electrical and electronics literature. It is meant to save time, to present the desired information in the place it is first looked up, and in a manner that allows the content to be more readily assimilated. Key features include: Contains over 35,000 detailed terms. Sponsored by the Institite of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, the world's largest professional organization and the creator of electrical engineering standards. Designed so that no cross referencing is required in order to achieve full understanding of terms.
Concise Encyclopedia of Robotics by Stan Gibilisco
Call Number: REF TJ210.4 .C65 2003
ISBN: 0071410104
Publication Date: 2002
This is a 400-page, illustrated encyclopaedia, intended mainly for amateur robotics fans, electronics hobbyists and students, covering the subjects of robotics and artificial intelligence (AI). The definitions are short, yet informative. There are approximately 150 illustrations.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology by Harry Henderson
Call Number: REF QA76.15 .H43 2003
ISBN: 0816043736
Publication Date: 2003
Covering more than basic computer commands and procedures, this encyclopaedia summarizes how technology has developed, the future of computer programs and applications, and the significance of computer components. Following an introduction and overview, there are approximately 750 to 800 entries.

Associations

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
Engineering Standards, News and Resources for Engineers
ASTM International - Standards Worldwide
ASTM International, formerly known as the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM), is a globally recognized leader in the development and delivery of international voluntary consensus standards.
Institute of Industrial Engineers
Welcome to the IEC - International Electrotechnical Commission
International Society of Mechatronic Engineering

Websites

Center for Intelligent Mechatronics
The CIM is a mechanical engineering research laboratory run by Dr. Michael Goldfarb at Vanderbilt University. The lab focuses on the design and control of electromechanical devices, with a particular emphasis on the emerging field of rehabilitation robotics.
CNC Zone
We are the largest and most active discussion forum from DIY CNC Machines to the Cad/Cam software to run them.
Electro-mechanical Technicians
Occupational Outlook Handbook entry showing job description, salary, job prospects, and more.
The Engineering Design Process
The engineering design process is a series of steps that engineers follow to come up with a solution to a problem. Many times the solution involves designing a product (like a machine or computer code) that meets certain criteria and/or accomplishes a certain task.
Inventor's Handbook
This handbook was created by the Lemelson-MIT Program to address the independent inventor's and aspiring entrepreneur's most frequently asked questions regarding United States patents.
MachineTools.com
Our goal is to provide more machine and tooling choices to our users and more leads to our sellers than any other machinery marketplace in the world on an easy-to-use platform with great customer support.
The Robotics Institute
The Robotics Institute at Carnegie Mellon University was established in 1979 to conduct basic and applied research in robotics technologies relevant to industrial and societal tasks. Seeking to combine the practical and the theoretical, the Robotics Institute has diversified its efforts and approaches to robotics science while retaining its original goal of realizing the potential of the robotics field.
Virtual Machine Shop
The Virtual Machine Shop (VMS) is a web site dedicated to the perpetuation of machine tool knowledge and training. This project is designed and maintained by volunteers from industry and academia and is free to everyone.
National Institute of Standards Technology NIST
Industry’s national laboratory, NIST is dedicated to supporting U.S. competitiveness in areas of national importance from communications technology and cybersecurity to advanced manufacturing and disaster resilience. By developing new tools to measure critical attributes, providing authoritative data, or bringing stakeholders together to find the way forward, NIST is helping U.S. industries across the economy become more competitive and improve Americans’ quality of life.

Mech-a-what? Mechatronics — the Engineering Field You Didn’t Know Existed
Mechatronics Resources
Salaries for Mechatronics Technicians
Mechatronics - Engineering and Technology.org
E&T is the IET’s award-winning monthly magazine and associated website for professional engineers, with a circulation of approximately 140,000. It covers all areas of engineering and technology through exclusive news, features, analysis, announcements and job adverts
Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)

TOPIC: Mechatronics: Automation & Robotics

Online Reference

Reference Ebooks

Print Reference

Associations

Websites