TOPIC: History

Collections of various reference books available online.  Just click the links below and search for your topic.

• BBC History: 
  • BBC History Magazine is a British publication devoted to history articles on both British and world history and are aimed at all levels of knowledge and interest.
• National Geographic: 
  • National Geographic online magazine includes information on historical stories.
• British History Online: 
  • British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
• Library of Congress Digital Collections: 
  • Digital collections including photographs, manuscripts and other resource material from the Library of Congress.
• The Wars of Vietnam, 1945-1975: 
  • This site, developed around the course materials for Robert Brigham's senior seminar on the Viet Nam War at Vassar College, offers students an opportunity to examine some of those sources, including numerous official documents.
• Virtual Vietnam Archive: 
  • The Virtual Vietnam Archive currently contains over 4 million pages of scanned materials.
• National Women's History Museum: 
  • The Museum researches, collects and exhibits the contributions of women to the social, cultural, economic and political life of the United States in a context of world history.
• Best of History Web Sites: 
  • Best of History Web Sites, created by EdTechTeacher Inc, is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites.
• National Park Service (Jamestown): 
  • Walk in the steps of Captain John Smith and Pocahontas where a successful English colonization of North America began.  Despite early struggles to survive, the 1607 settlement evolved into a prosperous colony.  As the colony expanded, the Virginia Indians were pushed out of their homeland.  In 1619, the arrival of Africans was recorded, marking the origin of slavery in English North America.
• Virtual Jamestown: 
  • The Virtual Jamestown Archive is a digital research, teaching and learning project that explores the legacies of the Jamestown settlement and "the Virginia experiment." As a work in progress, Virtual Jamestown aims to shape the national dialogue on the occasion of the four hundred-year anniversary observance in 2007 of the founding of the Jamestown colony.
• American Studies at UVA: 
  • Provides a background for the many watershed events related to the United States
• National Park Service (Pilgrims): 
  • Provides a background on the landing at Plymouth Rock and the development of the New England Colonies.