Research Guides: Precision Machining Technology: Suggested Resources

Online Reference

Collections of various reference books available online. Just click the links below and search for your topic.

eBook Central - Academic Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
These collections offer over 240,000 multi-disciplinary e-books with powerful research tools and DRM-free chapter downloads. Ebook Central Library offers concurrent access, read aloud for all titles, and a download option for offline access. Need special software to download whole book. Many books in other languages.
Coverage: 1920 - present
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 15,000 titles of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects. The breadth of information available provides students and scholars with access to information relevant to their research needs.
Added MasterFile Reference, over 700 titles, in 2022.
Added Nursing Ebooks, over 600 titles, in Feb 2023.
Coverage: 1983-present
Gale Virtual Reference Library - ebooks This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Over 1600 titles.
Coverage: 1961 - present
Oxford Reference Online Premium - Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Contains over 390 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford, including titles in Oxford Companions Series. All books are cross-searchable.
Coverage: 2002 - present
Oxford Academic - eBooks This link opens in a new window
Oxford Academic Books provides access to over 12,000 e-books in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. An essential resource for scholars, teachers and researchers, publishing research and scholarship across many subject areas.
Select the filters on the left for Unlocked, Free, and Open Access to see all the titles currently available.
Coverage: 1972 - present.

Additional Web Resources

American Machinist
Find information on metalworking, machining, industrial automation processes and technology developments, product design for metalworking industries.
Machine Tools Online
Information site for the machine tools community. Includes industry news, product information, used equipment marketplace, job openings, reports, and updates.
Modern Machine Shop
Modern Machine Shop is focused on all aspects of metalworking technology. Providing the new product technologies; process solutions; supplier listings; application videos; business management content and networking.
Practical Machinist
Practical Machinist is the a great cite to learn new techniques, get answers quickly and discuss common challenges with your peers.

Career Resources

Machinists and Tool & Die Makers
Career information from the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
Occupational Employment & Wages
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, a site showing where machinists are more often employed, where the best pay is, and other useful info.

Professional Associations

The following are some of the many professional associations for those employed in PMT fields.

Print Reference

These are located on the shelf in the Reference section of the Library:

Metalworking - Doing It Better by Tom Lipton
Call Number: TS227 .L578 2013
ISBN: 9780831134761
Publication Date: 2013
This collection of priceless tips, tricks, skills, and experiences from a veteran of the trade is presented in a way that captures the readers' attention and engages them in the process of furthering their skills. It includes shop-tested descriptions and illustrations of creative and unique techniques and observations from four decades in the metalworking trades.
Basic Machining Reference Handbook by Arthur R. Meyers; Thomas Slattery
Call Number: TJ1165 .M45 2001
ISBN: 0831131209
Publication Date: 2001
Includes expanded chapters on numerical control and computerized operations. Contains additional speeds and feeds tables, general troubleshooting concepts, and a basic review of relevant computer terms and applications. Emphasizes the hands-on concept of developing and refining skills, along with knowledge of metals and machining processes by means of application.
McGraw-Hill Machining and Metalworking Handbook by Ronald A. Walsh
Call Number: TJ1185 .W35 1999
ISBN: 0070680590
Publication Date: 1998
This reference text covers both machining and metalworking data and information, and has been updated to include laser equipment. It discusses ISO and ANSI specifications for cutting inserts, and contains recent cutting tool technology, feeds and speeds for machining operations.

Selected Web Resources

Online Magazines

Injection Molding Magazine Online
Offers full text articles of Injection Molding Magazine and Injection Molding Magazine International, 1997 to present.
American Machinist
Information on the industry. Includes new product and articles from January 1998 to the current issue.

Websites & Information

How Stuff Works
Searchable database of instructions for almost anything.
Machining Resources
Resources for machining, machining tutorials, metals and metalworking.
Basics Of Computer Numerical Control
Introduction to what CNC is.
The Virtual Machine Shop (VMS)
Web site dedicated to the perpetuation of machine tool knowledge and training.
Martindale's: Calculators On-line Center
Extensive listing of calculators, applets, spreadsheets, and reference sources for Engineering.
Canadian Plastics: Mold, Tool and Die Makers
Search for Canadian manufacturers of molds, tools and dies for the plastics industry.
Pneumatics Online
Information source of the Pneumatics Industry.

Associations & Organizations

International Organization for Standardization: ISO
The world's largest developer and publisher of International Standards, with members representing 159 countries.
National Tooling & Machining Association
The site of the national tooling association in the United States. Includes lots of links.

Materials

Pictorial Guide to Basic Metallurgy
Metallurgy chart
MatWeb
A searchable database of material properties. Includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

TOPIC: Precision Machining Technology

Online Reference

Additional Web Resources

Print Reference

Selected Web Resources