TOPIC: How do I search Library Databases?

How to search a database

Step 1:

Start by clicking the "Find Articles" box on the library's homepage.  This reveals a selection of databases from our resources.  Choose one under the "Start Here" box.  Any of those is a good starting point for most topics.  

Step 2:

Type keywords or a phrase into the search box.  Phrase searching is the fastest option.   Put quotes "" around your words life this:  "food safety in restaurants"

For more detailed results, search by using keywords separated by AND. All the keywords you use should be directly related to your topic. For example, if you're investigating how music may affect infants' sleep, search using this string: music AND infants AND sleep. See example below.

Step 3:

If you can't find what you need in the EBSCO databases, try another database.  A complete list is on our Database List page.    
 

Step 4:

Select a Subject from the left menu to find the appropriate database.  If you're off-campus, you will be prompted to login.  Below is a list of particularly helpful databases:

• It's helpful to use boolean search terms when searching library databases.  Combine nouns with any of these terms: and, or, not.  For example, if you want articles that talk about dogs AND cats (both terms appear in each article), or dogs OR cats (either term can appear in the article), or dogs NOT cats (the term "dogs" appears in the article, but if "cats" also appears, then it's filtered out).  
• Can't find what you need? Ask a librarian.