Research Guides: Psychology: Find Books &amp; EBooks

How to search for Books

Call Numbers for this Subject

Print books and ebooks may be found by using the library catalog. To search for books on your topic, use the search tool below by typing your topic or keywords into the search box.

Books within this subject area may be found within the following call number ranges:

Browse the call numbers in the areas listed below to find print books on the shelf at the Library.

Psychology	Call Numbers
Psychology	BF1-990
Parapsychology	BF1001-1389
Occult sciences	BF1404-2055

Other call numbers to find books on Psychology:

H Social Sciences

HF5548.7-5548.85    Industrial Psychology.
HM1001-1281      Social psychology.
HV6035-6197      Criminal anthropology.

L Education

LB1050.9-1091 Educational psychology.

Q Science

QP351-495 Neurophysiology and neuropsychology.

R Medicine

RC321-571     Neurosciences. Biological Psychiatry. Neuropsychiatry.
RC435-571      Psychiatry.
RC475-489      Therapeutics. Psychotherapy.
RC500-510      Psychoanalysis.
RC512-569.5   Psychopathology.
RJ499-507       Child psychiatry

Find books & ebooks here

Search books using the search box below. You may select from the drop down a keyword, subject, title or author search.

Need help finding a book?

Books on Psychology

The Urge by Carl Erik Fisher
Call Number: RC438.6.F57 A3 2022
ISBN: 9780525561446
Publication Date: 2022
An authoritative, illuminating, and deeply humane history of addiction--a phenomenon that remains baffling and deeply misunderstood despite having touched countless lives--by an addiction psychiatrist striving to understand his own family and himself.
The Burnout Epidemic by Jennifer Moss
Call Number: RA785 .M69 2021
ISBN: 9781647820367
Publication Date: 2021
In this important and timely book, workplace well-being expert Jennifer Moss helps leaders and individuals prevent burnout and create healthier, happier, and more productive workplaces. We tend to think of burnout as a problem we can solve with self-care: more yoga, better breathing techniques, and more resilience. But evidence is mounting that applying personal, Band-Aid solutions to an epic and rapidly evolving workplace phenomenon isn't enough--in fact, it's not even close.
The Future of the Self by Jay Friedenberg
Call Number: BF697.5.S44 F75 2020
ISBN: 9780520302426
Publication Date: 2020
We live in the digital age where our sense of self and identity has moved beyond the body to encompass hardware and software. Cyborgs, online representations in social media, avatars, and virtual reality extend our notion of what it means to be human. This book looks at the progression of self from the biological to the technological using a multidisciplinary approach. It examines the notion of personhood from philosophical, psychological, neuroscience, robotics, and artificial intelligence perspectives, showing how the interface between bodies, brains, and technology can give rise to new forms of human identity.
Mind Fixers by Anne Harrington
Call Number: RC455.4.B5 H37 2019
ISBN: 9780393071221
Publication Date: 2019
Explores psychiatry's repeatedly frustrated struggle to understand mental disorder in biomedical terms. The author shows how the stalling of early twentieth century efforts in this direction allowed Freudians and social scientists to insist, with some justification, that they had better ways of analyzing and fixing minds. But when the Freudians overreached, they drove psychiatry into a state of crisis that a new "biological revolution" was meant to alleviate. Harrington shows how little that biological revolution had to do with breakthroughs in science, and why the field has fallen into a state of crisis in our own time.
Our Minds, Our Selves by Keith Oatley
Call Number: BF81 .O24 2018
ISBN: 9780691175089
Publication Date: 2018
An original history of psychology told through the stories of its most important breakthroughs and the people who made them Advances in psychology have revolutionized our understanding of the human mind. Imaging technology allows researchers to monitor brain activity, letting us see what happens when we perceive, think, and feel. But technology is only part of how ideas about the mind and brain have developed over the past century and a half. In Our Minds, Our Selves, distinguished psychologist and writer Keith Oatley provides an engaging, original, and authoritative history of modern psychology told through the stories of its most important breakthroughs and the men and women who made them.
Social Psychology by Randal W. Summers
Call Number: HM1033 .S645 2017
ISBN: 9781440847295
Publication Date: 2017
Describes these subtle but powerful effects in our daily lives, offering a complete and balanced view of the topic. Readers will discover the history of social psychology, grasp its theories and core concepts, learn about important issues and debates related to this topic, and see how these ideas are directly applicable to therapy and other real-world situations.
Adolescence: a Very Short Introduction by Peter K. Smith
Call Number: BF724 .S56 2016
ISBN: 9780199665563
Publication Date: 2016
Adolescence is a turbulent period to live through, and a time of importance and concern to parents, teachers, and social workers. Marking the transition from the world of childhood to adult life, the adolescent faces many challenges and opportunities, including forming their own identity,relating to often conflicting demands from parents and peers, and negotiating first romantic relationships.

Search for EBSCO ebooks

Ebooks for Psychology

Below is a sample listing of ebooks to illustrate what kinds of ebooks are available.

Psychology by Rolf Reber
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781315148045
Publication Date: 2019
This compact introduction is the ideal primer for anyone looking for an accessible overview of the basic principles of psychology, the fascinating science of mind and behavior. In everyday life we often ask why people act the way that they do, especially when we encounter or hear about puzzling behavior.
Promoting Resilience by Neil Thompson (Editor); Gerry R. Cox (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780429057298
Publication Date: 2019
Promoting Resilience offers a fresh perspective that views resilience through a sociological lens, emphasizing the significance of loss issues and highlighting a range of practice implications across a wide range of fields. Drawing on the expertise of a wide range of contributors, the book provides a solid foundation for developing a fuller and more holistic picture of the many challenges associated with promoting resilience.
A History of Psychology in Ten Questions by Michael Hyland
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781351203036
Publication Date: 2019
This student-friendly book on the history of psychology covers the key historical developments and controversies in all areas of psychology, linking history to the present by focusing on ten conceptual issues that are relevant today. How did psychology become a science, and what kind of science did it become? How do psychologists measure and explain the fact that in some ways everyone is unique? Is psychoanalysis scientific? Why did cognitive science replace behaviorism? This book addresses all these questions and more, covering the whole range of psychology, from neuroscience and artificial intelligence to hermeneutics and qualitative research in the process.
Advances in Cognitive Load Theory by Sharon Tindall-Ford (Editor); Shirley Agostinho (Editor); John Sweller (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780429283895
Publication Date: 2019
Cognitive load theory uses our knowledge of how people learn, think and solve problems to design instruction. In turn, instructional design is the central activity of classroom teachers, of curriculum designers, and of publishers of textbooks and educational materials, including digital information. Characteristically, the theory is used to generate hypotheses that are tested using randomized controlled trials.
Fixing Feedback by Georgia Murch
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780730327462
Publication Date: 2016
Feedback is broken -- here's how to fix it to create a highly engaged workplace with high performing leaders and employees Fixing Feedback is not just another management book -- it's a smart, refreshing, practical guide to feedback in the workplace. Everyone already knows how important feedback is, and we all know we should be giving it and receiving it regularly -- yet we still do it poorly or avoid it entirely. This book shows you how to do it right. You'll learn what exactly constitutes useful feedback, how to deliver it effectively, how to receive it gracefully and how to use it to strengthen yourself, your team and your business.

eBooks in other collections

Below are some databases for our eBooks.

From off campus you will log in with your myDCC username and password (the same ones you use to access Canvas, student email, etc.).

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 15,000 titles of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects. The breadth of information available provides students and scholars with access to information relevant to their research needs.
Added MasterFile Reference, over 700 titles, in 2022.
Added Nursing Ebooks, over 600 titles, in Feb 2023.
Coverage: 1983-present
eBook Central - Academic Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
These collections offer over 240,000 multi-disciplinary e-books with powerful research tools and DRM-free chapter downloads. Ebook Central Library offers concurrent access, read aloud for all titles, and a download option for offline access. Need special software to download whole book. Many books in other languages.
Coverage: 1920 - present
Springer Science EBOOKS This link opens in a new window
Access to over 29,000 e-books on behavioral sciences, biomedical and life science, computer science, and earth and environmental science topics.
Coverage: 1922 - present
Oxford Academic - eBooks This link opens in a new window
Oxford Academic Books provides access to over 12,000 e-books in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. An essential resource for scholars, teachers and researchers, publishing research and scholarship across many subject areas.
Select the filters on the left for Unlocked, Free, and Open Access to see all the titles currently available.
Coverage: 1972 - present.
Taylor & Francis EBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This ebook collection offers more than 46,000 multidisciplinary titles - in areas across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Education, Health, Medicine, Computer Science, and Information Technology.
Includes legacy content (CRC Press) which provides access to handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial, and mining engineering.
Coverage: 1980 - present