Research Guides: ENG 111: Find Articles

Locate our Databases

Searching our Databases

Go to DCC’s website - http://www.danville.edu
Click on “Services & Support”
Click on the “Library” link
Click on “Find Articles”
Choose "Academic Search Complete"
Search your topic

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary database covering many areas including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. It is a full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many journals and other publications.
What's included? Dates Covered: 1887 - present Material type: articles, including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings
Getting articles? While many databases have much full text, if there is no PDF icon, there is no full text. In order to get these, fill out this form: InterLibrary Loan

Search databases effectively Tutorial

How to locate Scholarly Journal Articles, through one of the most popular Databases.

Boolean Operators

Boolean Operators are used in database and Internet searches to filter and improve results. They define the relationships between words and phrases so that your search will be more effective and retrieve more relevant results.

Using Keywords

Why Use Databases

What is a scholarly database?

A scholarly database organizes the best quality, most relevant information for a field or discipline in one place so it can be searched. Because there is so much scholarly research and so many different fields, databases specialize in which kinds of information or tools they provide.

Why use a scholarly database?

Scholarly databases take into account the important publications and research methods of a field or discipline. The database helps you make choices about which articles you want to see - by subject, dates of publication, overall topic, and more. Google and Google Scholar, while vast, do no quality control on the content they provide or give you good tools to narrow your focus.

TOPIC: ENG 111

Search for Articles