TOPIC: ENG 112

    What is a library database?

  What’s wrong with just Googling it?

  How do I access and use the library databases?

  My instructor told our class we can’t use any (or only a few) Internet sources. (Can I still use the library databases?)

Database searches work differently than a Google search. Do not type in your entire topic or question. Instead enter the keywords or search terms from your topic or question.

example -   How is the American dream represented in the The Great Gatsby?

Keywords to enter into the database: "The Great Gatsby" and "American dream"

Place phrases in quotations marks if the words need to be exactly in that order.  

"Search Terms" are keywords and phrases (not a whole sentence) that describe your topic.

Below are examples of ways you can use search terms to find sources:

• "war of the worlds" wells
  • Title in "quotation marks" followed by author's last name.

Enclosing words that go together in quotation marks helps with phrase searching.

• "war of the worlds" and wells and imperialism
  • Title of the work plus author's last name and topic keyword

Finds resources that include all of those items

• "british imperialism"
  • Topical keywords only.

Picks up material about the topic in general, not necessarily connected with a particular author or literary work.

• wells, h.g.
  • Author's last name followed by a comma, and first name.

Lastname, Firstname search picks up material about the author's life and works in general.

This tutorial will help you locate Scholarly and Popular Magazine and Journal Articles, through one of the most popular Databases.

You might need to broaden your search to include:

• Author’s Work in General
• Themes or Motifs – such as utopia, scapegoat
• Types of Criticism – Marxist, feminist
• Genre – such as science fiction
• Literary Elements – such as metaphor, imagery
• Time & Culture – such as 20th century, women

MLA International Bibliography Search Tips & Tutorial

To find literary criticism articles that critique two or more literary works by an author:

1. Go to the MLA International Biography search screen.
2. Type the author's first and last name in the 1st search box and select SA Primary Subject Author from the Select a Field menu on the right.
3. When the results screen appears, you can use the filtering menus on the left to limit your search to Full Text as well as Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

To find literary criticism articles that critique a specific literary work by an author:

1. Go to the MLA International Biography search screen.
2. Type the author's first and last name in the 1st search box and select SA Primary Subject Author from the Select a Field menu on the right.
3. Type the tile of the specific work in the 2nd search box and select SK Primary Subject Work from the Select a Field menu on the right.
4. When the results screen appears, you can use the filtering menus on the left to limit your search to Full Text as well as Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

To find literary criticism articles that critique a specific theme in one or more literary works:

1. Go to the MLA International Biography search screen.
2. Type keywords that describe a specific theme in the 1st search box. You can also select SU Subject from the Select a Field menu on the right.
3. Type the author's first and last name in the 2nd search box and select SA Primary Subject Author from the Select a Field menu on the right - OR - type the tile of the specific work in the 2nd search box and select SK Primary Subject Work from the Select a Field menu on the right.
4. When the results screen appears, you can use the filtering menus on the left to limit your search to Full Text as well as Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.

NOTE: When reviewing results, an Academic Journal icon, indicates that the resource is a scholarly journal article. A Review icon indicates the resource is a book review, You should avoid using book reviews unless your research assignment instructs you to use book reviews.