Research Guides: Automotive Mechanics and Repair: Find Books &amp; EBooks

How to search for Books

Call Numbers for this Subject

Print books and ebooks may be found by using the library catalog. To search for books on your topic, use the search tool below by typing your topic or keywords into the search box.

Books within this subject area may be found within the following call number ranges:

Browse the call numbers in the areas listed below to find print books on the shelf at the Library.

Automotive Technology	Call Numbers
Motor vehicles. Cycles	TL1-484
Metal manufactures. Metalworking	TS200-770
Miscellaneous motors and engines Including gas, gasoline, diesel engines	TJ751-805

Find books & ebooks here

Search books using the search box below. You may select from the drop down a keyword, subject, title or author search.

Need help finding a book?

Books on Automotive

Advanced Automotive Fault Diagnosis by Tom Denton
Call Number: TL152 .D3934 2021
ISBN: 9780367330521
Publication Date: 2020-
Diagnostics: Test don't guess. Learn all the skills you need to pass Level 3 and 4 Vehicle Diagnostic courses from IMI, City and Guilds and BTEC, as well as ASE, AUR, and other higher-level qualifications. Along with twenty-five new real-life case studies, this fifth edition of Advanced Automotive Fault Diagnosis includes new content on diagnostic tools and equipment.
The Repair of Vehicle Bodies by Andrew Livesey
Call Number: TL255 .R56 2019
ISBN: 9780815378709
Publication Date: 2018
Reference manual on vehicle body repair brings the book up to date for the current body repair trade. It serves as a comprehensive guide covering the vocationally related qualification (VRQ) required by the modern student and apprentice, as well as providing the CPD essential for all working professionals.
The High Performance Shop by Mitch Schneider
Call Number: TL152 .S373 2004
ISBN: 9781401826611
Publication Date: 2003
Leads users to an understanding of the principles and procedures needed to manage an automotive services facility. Written by a National Automotive Service Advisory Panel member and former host of the 'Tech Tips' segment on the popular 'Truckin' USA' television show, each book contains proven solutions for effectively tackling challenges faced by today's professional automotive service managers. The rationale for automotive services management as a unique discipline is also explained, making this series a great resource for professionals and those interested in Auto Service Management as their career path.
Automotive Engine Repair by Nicholas Goodnight; Kirk VanGelder
Call Number: TL152 .G5795 2018
ISBN: 9781284101980
Publication Date: 2017
Automotive Engine Repair, published as part of the CDX Master Automotive Technician Series, provides students with the technical background, diagnostic strategies, and repair procedures they need to successfully repair engines in the shop. Focused on a "strategy-based diagnostics" approach, this book helps students master diagnosis in order to properly resolve the customer concern on the first attempt.
Automotive Technology by Jack Erjavec
Call Number: TL152 .E67 2010
ISBN: 9781428311497
Publication Date: 2009
Remains the leading authority on automotive theory, service and repair procedures. The new edition has been updated to include coverage of hybrid vehicles throughout the text, new content on electronic automatic transmissions, preventive maintenance, and many other topics that reflect the most recent changes in the industry. Chapters cover the theory, diagnosis and service of all system areas for automobiles and light trucks, and the content closely adheres to the 2008 NATEF Automobile Program Standards.

Search for EBSCO ebooks

Ebooks on Automotive

Below is a listing of some sample ebooks to illustrate what kinds of ebooks are available.

Automobile Mechanical and Electrical Systems by Tom Denton
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 1317931319
Publication Date: 2017
The second edition of Automobile Mechanical and Electrical Systems concentrates on core technologies to provide the essential information required to understand how different vehicle systems work.
Automotive Technician Training: Practical Worksheets Level 1 by Tom Denton
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781315723532
Publication Date: 2015
Automotive practical worksheets and assessments for students at Level 1 This Level 1 Student Worksheets book contains tasks that help you develop practical skills and prepare you for assessment. The tasks also reinforce the automotive theory that you will learn online and in the classroom. Each worksheet covers individual topics in a step-by-step manner, detailing how to carry out all of the most important tasks contained within the syllabus.
Automotive Systems by G. K. Awari; V. S. Kumbhar; R. B. Tirpude
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781003047636
Publication Date: 2021
This book introduces the principles and practices in automotive systems, including modern automotive systems that incorporate the latest trends in the automobile industry. The fifteen chapters present new and innovative methods to master the complexities of the vehicle of the future.
Automotive Innovation by Patrick Hossay
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780429464997
Publication Date: 2019
Automotive Innovation: The Science and Engineering behind Cutting-Edge Automotive Technology provides a survey of innovative automotive technologies in the auto industry. Automobiles are rapidly changing, and this text explores these trends. IC engines, transmissions, and chassis are being improved, and there are advances in digital control, manufacturing, and materials.

eBooks in other collections

Below are some databases for our eBooks.

From off campus you will log in with your myDCC username and password (the same ones you use to access Canvas, student email, etc.).

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 15,000 titles of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects. The breadth of information available provides students and scholars with access to information relevant to their research needs.
Added MasterFile Reference, over 700 titles, in 2022.
Added Nursing Ebooks, over 600 titles, in Feb 2023.
Coverage: 1983-present
eBook Central - Academic Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
These collections offer over 240,000 multi-disciplinary e-books with powerful research tools and DRM-free chapter downloads. Ebook Central Library offers concurrent access, read aloud for all titles, and a download option for offline access. Need special software to download whole book. Many books in other languages.
Coverage: 1920 - present
Springer Science EBOOKS This link opens in a new window
Access to over 29,000 e-books on behavioral sciences, biomedical and life science, computer science, and earth and environmental science topics.
Coverage: 1922 - present
Oxford Academic - eBooks This link opens in a new window
Oxford Academic Books provides access to over 12,000 e-books in 20 subject areas across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law. An essential resource for scholars, teachers and researchers, publishing research and scholarship across many subject areas.
Select the filters on the left for Unlocked, Free, and Open Access to see all the titles currently available.
Coverage: 1972 - present.
Taylor & Francis EBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This ebook collection offers more than 46,000 multidisciplinary titles - in areas across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Education, Health, Medicine, Computer Science, and Information Technology.
Includes legacy content (CRC Press) which provides access to handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial, and mining engineering.
Coverage: 1980 - present