TOPIC: Physics

Recommended Web Sites for Spectra and 

Spectrum-related Information

• SpectroscopyNOW.com

  This site includes information on a wide range of spectroscopy topics, including NMR, IR, UV and mass spec. Access to some features, such as the online e-zine Spectral Lines, requires (no-cost) registration. This site includes discussion forums and links to other spectroscopy-related websites, including online databases of spectral data.

• NIST Atomic Spectra Database

  This site can be searched by "lines" (Spectral lines and associated energy levels) or "levels" (energy levels), and also includes a table of ground states and ionization energies for neutral atoms. [Produced by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)].

• NIST Chemistry WebBook

  Includes IR, mass spec, and UV spectra for thousands of compounds. Scroll down to "Documentation."

• Integrated Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds

  Maintained by the Japanese National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, this database includes NMR, IR, and MS data for tens of thousands of compounds. Access is free. The providers request that users not download more than 50 files per day, and that you acknowledge them if any data are used in a publication or presentation.

• Spectral Database for Organic Compounds

  SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.

Feynman's Lectures

____________________________________

The lectures on physics by Richard Feynman, given in 1964 at Cornell University and are available now online for free here. 

Lecture titles are as follows:

1. Law of Gravitation - An Example of Physical Law
2. The Relation of Mathematics and Physics
3. The Great Conservation Principles
4. Symmetry in Physical Law
5. The Distinction of Past and Future
6. The Quantum Mechanical View of Nature
7. Seeking New Laws

    Six not-so-easy pieces : Einstein's relativity, symmetry, and space-time

Richard Phillips Feynman

Reading, Mass. : Addison-Wesley Pub. c1997

Available at Danville Community College Library Circulating Collection (QC21.2 .F529 1997 ) 

      Six easy pieces : essentials of physics, explained by its most brilliant teacher

Richard Phillips Feynman Robert B Leighton Matthew L Sands (Matthew Linzee)

Reading, Mass. : Helix Books c1995

Available at Danville Community College Library Circulating Collection (QC21.2 .F52 1995 ) 

    "Surely you're joking, Mr. Feynman!" : adventures of a curious character

Richard P Feynman (Richard Phillips), 1918-1988, author. Ralph Leighton author. Edward Hutchings editor. Bill Gates 1955- writer of introduction.

New York : W.W. Norton & Company 2018